Guide to the Watauga County Government Ledgers, 1920 - 1959, undated

Summary Information

Title: Watauga County Government Ledgers, 1920 - 1959, undated
Collection: AC.371
Extent: 6 linear feet (8 boxes)

The Watauga County Government Ledgers consist of tax records, distribution, and ledgers originating from Watauga County's court house.

Creator: Watauga County court

Biographical/Historical Note

Located in northwestern North Carolina, Watauga County, North Carolina was formed from Ashe County, Caldwell County, Wilkes County, and Yancey County in 1849. Its county seat is Boone.

Scope and Contents

This collection contains Watauga County court tax ledgers.


This collection is organized alphabetically.

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

This collection is open for use in the Dougherty Reading Room without restrictions. An appointment for research is recommended. The Dougherty Reading Room is located on the 4th floor of Belk Library in Special Collections.

Acquisitions Information

Watauga County government disposed of these ledgers, and Lynne Getz donated these materials to the W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection. This collection's accession number is AC.2003.002. It was opened to the public in April 2007.

Processing Information

Processed by Kathryn Staley and Rachel Critzer, April 2007; Encoded by Kathryn Staley, April 2007

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], AC.371: Watauga County Government Ledgers, W. L. Eury Appalachian Collection, Appalachian State University, Boone, North Carolina, USA.

Container List

Collection 371A. Watauga County Government Ledgers, (1920 - 1959)
This collection contains Watauga County court tax ledgers. Organized alphabetically, these ledgers delineate county residents' property and values for specific items, such as land, automobiles, livestock, and household items.
1   Farthing Act, 1925-1926.
    Accounts, 1956.
    Accounts, 1959.
    Road Maintenance, 1926-1927.
2   County Commissioners- Per Deim and Mileage, 1956.
    County of Watauga- Cash Receipts, 1930.
3   Shawneehaw, 1920. (Tax listings)
4   County of Watauga- Cash receipts and Disbursements, 1949.
5   Cove Creek, 1920. (Tangible and Personal Property and Listings of Land Acreage)
6   Ledger, 1930-1931. (Unlabeled balance records but includes Watauga County surnames and businesses as well as Johnson City businesses)
7   Cove Creek, 1951. (Listing of Real Estate and Personal Property)
8   Cove Creek, 1957. (Listing of Real Estate and Personal Property)
9   Tax ledger, n.d.